Dukas, Saint-Saëns, Mussorgsky


On April 15 and April 16, the St. Louis Symphony performs the overture to Polyeucte, by Paul Dukas; Camille Saint-Saëns’s Fifth Piano Concerto; and Modest Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition, orchestrated by Maurice Ravel. (That’s Camille Saint-Saëns in the photograph.)

Here’s a link to my program notes, which start on p. 26:


2 thoughts on “Dukas, Saint-Saëns, Mussorgsky

    • Thank you! Hope you were able to listen to the live broadcast last night. It was tremendous–I so wish I could have made it to one of the performances. Lortie (the soloist on the “Egyptian”) was phenomenal.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s